WhatsApp has a feature that enables you to see who read your messages.
The blue tick allows you to see that the person has read your message.
Alternatively, the gray tick shows that the person has received the message but not read it.
However, you and the user need to enable “Read Receipts” to function it.
In addition, WhatsApp also has a feature to add a status where your contacts can view it.
A WhatsApp status is same as an Instagram story which is available for 24 hours.
However, can you see who viewed it?
In this article, I am going to show you how to see or know who viewed your WhatsApp profile or status.
Can someone tell if you view their WhatsApp profile?
No, someone will not be able to tell if you view their WhatsApp profile.
However, if you viewed someone’s status, they will be notified and they can see it.
A WhatsApp status is same as an Instagram story.
Do not confuse it with your “About” message on your profile.
When you view someone’s status on WhatsApp, the users can see it by tapping on the “eye” icon.
However, it does not have a feature where you can see if someone viewed your WhatsApp profile.
You will only be able to track if the person and you are chatting with one another.
Can someone tell if you view their WhatsApp status?
Yes, someone can tell with ease if you view their WhatsApp status.
When you publish a WhatsApp status, use the “eye” icon by tapping on it and you can see who viewed it.
The same is the case with that person, they can also know that you viewed their status on Whatsapp if they tap on the “eye” icon available on their story.
A WhatsApp status is the same as an Instagram story.
When you post a status on the platform, it will remain visible for 24 hours.
After one day (24 hours), the status will be expired and automatically disappear.
This also tells you that you can only see who viewed your WhatsApp status for 24 hours when the status and eye icon are available.
How to know who viewed your WhatsApp profile
To know who viewed your WhatsApp profile, your task is to post a status and see who viewed it.
Unluckily, WhatsApp does not offer you any feature that enables you to see who viewed your profile.
Therefore, the best thing is to publish the status, wait for some time and see who viewed it.
The people who viewed your status definitely visited your profile on WhatsApp too.
When you post a status, once they visit their “Status” page, it will be visible to them.
Only your contacts can see your WhatsApp Status by default settings.
In addition, you can also make changes to it by going to your WhatsApp settings.
To do so, go to WhatsApp settings, tap on Account > Privacy > Status.
There are options that allow you to decide who can view your status to “My Contacts”, “My Contacts Except”, or “Only Share With…”.
Having said that, changes to your privacy settings will not affect the status updates which you’ve already posted.
How to know who viewed your WhatsApp status
To know who viewed your WhatsApp status, you need to check your status.
After reaching your status, tap on the “eye” icon to see your viewers.
The number shown next to the “eye” icon shows how many people viewed your WhatsApp status.
You will come across the list of people who viewed your WhatsApp status if you tap on the “eye” icon.
You need to remember that you can only see your viewers within 24 hours span.
After 24 hours, your status will disappear and also the list of people who watched it.
If you want to hide your status from some of your contacts, you can stop them from viewing it.
The process can be done by going to Settings > Account > Privacy > Status.
Now, you can change the privacy settings of your status to the contacts you desire to view your status.
If you want to restrict one or two of your contacts, you can select the “My Contacts Except…” option.
This will help you to block certain contacts from viewing the status.
Alternatively, if you want to get rid of multiple people, you can choose the “Only Share With…” option.
This feature helps you to allow certain contacts to view your status.
The effect will be working for your future statuses.
The first thing you need to remember is that statuses on WhatsApp will only last for 24 hours.
In a nutshell, your status will be deleted after 24 hours.
Alternatively, your “About” message will not disappear.
The “About” message used to be known as “Status” until WhatsApp changed it.
Now, your WhatsApp status is the same as an Instagram story where you can share a video or a photo for 24 hours.
If you need assistance, you need to contact the help center of WhatsApp.
How to Freeze “Last Seen” on WhatsApp
Arsalan Rauf is an entrepreneur, freelancer, creative writer, and also a fountainhead of Green Hat Expert. Additionally, he is also an eminent researcher of Blogging, SEO, Internet Marketing, Social Media, premium accounts tips and tricks, etc.