Are you facing a “1 other person viewed this story” on Facebook story?
The full sentence will be: “1 other person viewed this story. As it was shared to Public, a person you aren’t friends with saw it”.
In 2017, Facebook has released its stories that allow the users to upload a video or a photo that can remain in stories for 24 hours and their friends can see it.
It is same as Snapchat stories (the original publisher of stories).
Social media apps like Twitter, YouTube, LinkedIn, and so on has come to increase the attention of its users.
With the story feature, users can share their events of life with their dear ones and family.
Additionally, users can also see who viewed their Stories by looking at their list of the viewers.
However, it also has some confusing terms in the viewer’s list including “Other Viewers” on Facebook Stories.
If you have also seen that term (e.g. A other person viewed this story), you might want to know what it means.
After all, you want to know who seen your stories right?
In this post, I will tell you what “Other Viewers” mean on Facebook stories, how to see them, and more.
What Does “Other Viewers” Mean on Facebook story?
“Other Viewers” are the people on FB who have viewed your story that are not in your friends list on Facebook.
For instance, if it says “4 other people viewed this story”, it shows that 4 people that you’re not friends with have seen your story.
“Other viewers” will only be visible if you’ve changed your story’s privacy setting on Facebook.
By default, the privacy setting of your story will be set to “Friends” only.
“Friends” only means that only your friends on FB can view your story.
If you changed it to “Public”, anyone on Facebook or Messenger will be able to view your story.
Having said that, if someone who is not in your friend’s list on Facebook sees your story, they will be under “Other Viewers”.
If you happened to change your story’s privacy setting to “Public”, people who are not your friends on Facebook will be able to view your stories.
These users are categorized under “Other Viewers” on FB, and you cannot see their profiles.
The irony is that the users under “Other Viewers” will be anonymous.
A privacy setting called “Custom” is also available that allows you to select who can view your story.
If you only want to display your story to a selected group of friends, you can use this option.
However, this setting will restrict the public to see your story, as a result, “Other Viewers” won’t show up.
How to see “Other Viewers” on Facebook
Facebook does not show the profiles of “Other Viewers”.
Unluckily, you cannot see “Other Viewers” on FB
According to Facebook, if the privacy of your story is set to “Public”, you’re only able to view the followers who viewed your story, but not their specific names.
If the privacy of your story is set to “Public”, everyone will be able to see your story.
People who’ve seen your story that are not friends with you on Facebook will be shown under “Other Viewers”.
However, their names will not be shown to you.
In short, the users under “Other Viewers” will be hidden from you and they remain anonymous.
This limitation is disliked by many users as they are unable to see who the “Other Viewers” are.
There’s even a petition filed by Wendy Williams that demands Facebook to display the “Other Viewers”.
You can also sign the petition if you support it.
How to get rid of “Other Viewers” on Facebook
Go to Facebook app > profile > add story > add a photo/video > privacy > friends.
To get rid of “Other Viewers” on Facebook, your best bet is to change your story privacy to “Friends” the next time you post a story.
The reason why “Other Viewers” appears on your Facebook story views is that you’ve set the story’s privacy setting to “Public”.
If you’ve changed your story’s privacy setting from “Friends” to “Public”, users on FB who are not in your friends list can view your story.
As a result, they will be categorized under “Other Viewers” for instance, 3 other persons viewed this story.
If you want to restrict strangers from viewing your stories, you need to make changes to your privacy settings.
Here are the steps in this guide on how you can get rid of “Other Viewers” on the Facebook app:
- Firstly, open your Facebook profile > Add Story.
- Add a photo/video.
- Tap on “Privacy” at the bottom left of your screen.
- Lastly, change your privacy setting to “Friends”.
Note: You only have to change this setting one time.
Once you have changed your privacy setting to “Friends”, stories that you post in the future will only be seen by your friends.
In short, people who are not friends with you won’t be able to see your stories.
Therefore, this will prevent “Other Viewers” from showing up and it will be hidden from your story views.
Does “Other Viewers” mean that I’m blocked?
If someone blocks you right after they viewed your story, it will hide their profile, and you’ll see “1 viewer” in your story views.
Yes, “Other Viewers” on your Facebook story views can mean that someone has blocked you.
However, it can hardly happen.
“Other viewers” are people who saw your story that is not on your friends list on Facebook.
If you’re blocked on Facebook, you will be restricted from seeing the person’s posts, stories, and you’ll be removed as a friend.
Neither can the person see your stories or posts on the platform.
However, if the user viewed your story and blocked you right after, you’ll get “1 viewer” on your story views.
You will not be able to view the person’s name.
If the user unblocks you, adds you as a friend on Facebook, and you accept it, their name will re-appear on your story views.
I have tested it with the help of 2 accounts, and it’s proven to be true.
Knowing who viewed your stories is necessary due to privacy and safety reasons.
Unfortunately, if your privacy settings are set to “Public”, you won’t be able to see the people who saw your stories that you’re not friends on Facebook with.
Facebook is still not showing who the “Other Viewers” are, so you can only see your friends that saw your story.
Here are the main key points in the article:
- If you set your story’s privacy setting to “Public”, everyone on Facebook and Messenger can view your story.
- “Other Viewers” are people who are not on your friends’ list on Facebook.
- You cannot see “Other Viewers” as Facebook is deliberately keeping them hidden.
- In the event that anyone blocks you after watching your story, you’ll see “1 viewer” in your story views as their profile will remain anonymous.
All in all, it’s highly recommended that your privacy settings should be set to “Friends”.
Otherwise, strangers will be able to see your story and you will not be able to know them.
What Does Bump Mean on Facebook?
Why Is The “Add Friend” Button Not Showing on Facebook?
Arsalan Rauf is an entrepreneur, freelancer, creative writer, and also a fountainhead of Green Hat Expert. Additionally, he is also an eminent researcher of Blogging, SEO, Internet Marketing, Social Media, premium accounts tips and tricks, etc.